Exchange Programs

Young people between the ages of 18 and 30 from Argentina, Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, New Zealand, Taiwan, Uruguay and South Korea can come to the Netherlands for a maximum of 1 year via the Working Holiday Program (WHP) or the Working Holiday Scheme (WHS) to get acquainted with the Dutch culture and society. 

During the stay in the Netherlands it is allowed to follow a short study program/course and perform occasional work for a Dutch employer, without having a work permit. The condition is that the main purpose of the stay must remain paramount. 

A maximum of 200 Japanese and 100 South Korean young people can be granted a residence permit for ‘Working Holiday’ per year. For Argentina, Hong Kong, Taiwan and Uruguay, 100 residence permits can be issued per year. There is no maximum for Canadians, Australians and New Zealanders.